Kombucha Hangover

I don’t know what Kombucha is.  Or at least I didn’t.  But I went in to a Planet Organic looking for something to eat that would make me feel healthy, and I ended up buying a raw organic drink called “Synergy” which has Black Chia in it and is a Kombucha drink.  I also bought a bag of organic apples (which were delicious).

I enjoyed the drink – it came in a 480ml bottle, and serving size was 240ml.  It is pretty low-cal so I felt I could drink the whole bottle.

I finished it and started feeling… drunk.  I knew enough about Kombucha to know it’s alcoholic, but less than 1%, and this is sold in a grocery store so I figured it must be less than 0,5%…  It wouldn’t make sense to me that I’d be drunk.

Anyway after some brief internet research I decided I must be feeling a “healing crisis” (source).  I have no doubt that my body is “toxic” as I’ve never done a cleanse or detoxified before.

This morning I woke up with a terrible headache, and I’ve been extremely emotional all day.

Has anyone else experienced this?  What should I do?  I wouldn’t mind detoxing with Kombucha but I cannot take these side effects for any length of time.  I realize I should cut my dose significantly if I continue, but I wanted to see if anyone else has had a similar experience.

4 thoughts on “Kombucha Hangover

  1. Sorry, I’ve never had that happen before, haven’t tried the one with chia seeds though either. I do want to thank you for that link, it was interesting, as I never thought of there being side effects from kombucha.

    Reply
    • Apparently it only happens if you’re not used to kombucha. For people new to it they recommend one to two ounces, and I ignorantly downed 16.

      Now I have to decide if I ever drink it again. Do you enjoy kombucha? Do you find it makes you feel better?

      Reply
      • I did not read the article well enough, explains why I’ve not experienced it. No, I do not enjoy it (taste wise), it takes me a couple of days to drink one bottle.

        I do feel better since I started drinking it occasionally (a bottle of kombucha or kevita weekly, I do enjoy kevita lemon ginger). Drinking either though has cut back my diet root beer habit to one a week, and that may contribute to my better feeling also.

  2. I’m so glad I read your blog today!!

    I’m brewing my first batch of kombucha and it’s just about ready (pictures to come) – I was planning to try it today but ran out of time so it’ll be tomorrow. I’ve only ever tried commercial kombucha; I loved the taste but I don’t think it has any of the health benefits (why I’m brewing my own!!).

    Because of all my health issues I’m pretty sensitive to most things, so I will definitely be sure to ease myself into drinking it. Thanks!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

