Do we crave failure?

Today I feel like in most areas of my goals I am failing.  Partly I am cheating, at least I am making excuses to cheat.  And the more I read and learn about a healthy lifestyle the more I abhor the times that I cheat.

I have heard people theorize that we cheat (in diets or other areas) because in some way we are addicted to the guilt of it.  Possibly on some level we enjoy the act of repentance.  Possibly because there are self esteem issues and we self sabotage because of a  feeling of being undeserving.

I don’t know much about it (I think it’s an Oprah thing), but a mantra has been floating across my facebook feed the last week – “I am imperfect, and I am enough” (source) – and I really like the idea of this as a mantra.  Perhaps taking on this as a mantra will help break the cycle of self sabotage and guilt “addiction”.  If I can remind myself that it is OK to be imperfect, that regardless of my imperfections I am enough and I have value, then maybe I will stop feeling compelled to self sabotage.

I also have been thinking a lot more about eating better, cleaner.  I’m going to leave some guidelines for myself below.

– Cut out processed foods (in an effort to decrease sugar and salt)

– I don’t really drink very much alcohol but I could drink red wine as a substitute for the beer/whiskey I might drink otherwise.

-Incorporate good fats into meals – avocados, nuts, coconut oil, olive oil – less butter and meat

 

One thought on “Do we crave failure?

Leave a Reply

